• To Educate, Communicate, and Advocate for the Veterans Administration Nurse Professionally, Personally, and Legislatively.
  • Member Login
  • Subscribe

Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee was formed in 2012 in response to NOVA’s increased need for a continued strong voice in the nation’s legislative arena. The Legislative Committee is responsible for:

  • Developing NOVA’s Annual Legislative Agenda.
  • Assisting with and attending NOVA’s Annual Legislative Roundtable in Washington, DC.
  • Monitoring and responding to legislation which can potentially affect veterans and the nurses employed by the Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • Participating in “Hill Visits” with Congressional members and their staffs.
  • Collaborating with other nursing and veterans groups and organizations with common interests and goals.
  • Developing and submitting the Nursing Section of the Independent Budget.
  • Educating NOVA members on the legislative process.

The Legislative Committee consists of members of the NOVA Board of Directors and qualified volunteers selected from among the NOVA members. The Committee meets via conference calls and face-to face meetings.


2019 Legislative Committee Chairs

Chair: Teresa Acosta, DNP, MSN, RN

El Paso VA Health Care System

Co-Chair: Cecilia McVey, BSN, MHA, CNA
VA Boston Health Care System

2019 Legislative Committee Members

Betty Ang, PhD, PMHNP, PMHCNS-BC, VA Portland Health Care System

Julie Azar, Charles George VA Medical Center

Sharlene Barrow, West Palm Beach VA Medical Center

Kerry Brown, VA Portland Health Care System

Jazmin Budd-White, Hunter Holmes McGuire VA Medical Center

Linda Casale, West Palm Beach VA Medical Center

Cheryl Clarke, Bruce B. Carter VA Medical Center

Stacey Collins, White River Junction VA Medical Center

Carmen Concepcion,VA San Diego Health Care System

Hester Gunadi, VA Long Beach Health Care System

Gwendolyn Holland, St. Louis VA Medical Center

Ruth Holmes, VA Central Office

Sharon A. Johnson, VA Maryland Health Care System

Geizel Leach, VA Maryland Health Care System

Larry Lemos, VA Long Beach Health Care System

Margaret Milner, Providence VA Medical Center

Valarie Moorer, MSN, FNP-C, Hampton VA Medical Center

Rosetta Moss, St. Louis VA Medical Center

Eva Parrish, RN, BC, Northampton VA Medical Center

Catherine Proebstle, Minneapolis VA Medical Center

Michelle Salazar, RN, Black Hills VA Health Care System

Yvette Twum-Danso, W.J. Bryan Dorn VA Medical Center

Bridgette Vest, Salem VA Medical Center

Shari Wilson, VA Boston Health Care System

Kelley Saindon, Edith Nourse Rogers Memorial VA

Please let us know if you’d like to serve on the Legislative Committee. You must be a NOVA member in good standing. Members must be able to commit a substantial amount of time to committee work throughout their appointment. Please click on the link below and complete the form to be considered for service on the NOVA Legislative Committee.


Yes, I would like to be considered for service on the NOVA Legislative Committee.